Nebraska Art Teachers Association Honors Outstanding Art Educators

Julie Ryan and Melissa Cleaver, Co-Presidents of the Nebraska Art Teachers Association (NATA), have announced Nebraska’s 2017-18 Art Education award recipients.  NATA is a professional organization whose mission is to develop and promote quality art education in Nebraska through a statewide professional support system, with opportunities for growth and development through leadership and service.

Each year NATA recognizes outstanding contributions to student learning in Nebraska classrooms, leadership in curriculum and staff development in local school districts and communities, and contributions to professional endeavors on state and national levels.  Individual award descriptions may be viewed on the NATA website:
The awards will be presented in conjunction with the Nebraska Art Teachers Association fall conference held September 29th & 30th, 2017 in Lincoln, NE.

Receiving honors are:

  • Nebraska Outstanding Art Educator of the Year: Jennifer Bockerman, Norwood Park Elementary School, Lincoln Public Schools, Lincoln, NE
  • Higher Education Art Educator of the Year: Donald Robson, Concordia University, Seward, NE
  • Secondary Art Educator of the Year: Chris Dolan, Minden High School, Minden, NE
  • Elementary Art Educator of the Year: Deonne Hinz, Saint Patrick School, McCook, NE
  • K-12 Art Educator of the Year: Tyler Hinton, Cross County Community Schools, Stromsburg, NE
  • Museum Art Educator of the Year: Andy Smith, Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha, NE
  • Roscoe Shields Service Award: Deborah Kippley, Retired, Papillion, NE
  • Prism Award (service by non-art educators):
    • Liz Shea-McCoy, Nebraska Arts Council’s Artist in Residence, Lincoln, NE
    • Sheldon Docents, Sheldon Art Museum, Lincoln, NE


Contact Information

Phone: 402-473-0610
Dr. Matthew Hecker, Chief Administrative Officer
    Email Dr. Hecker
Rev. Msgr. John Perkinton, Superintendent
    Email Msgr. Perkinton
Sr. Collette Bruskewitz, OSF, Assistant Superintendent
    Email Sr. Collette
Mr. Dave Friesen, Executive Assistant
    Email Mr. Friesen
The Diocese of Lincoln | Chancery Office: 3400 Sheridan Blvd, Lincoln NE 68506-6125 | 402-488-0921 | Email Clergy Resources | Bookkeepers

Site by Solutio